- Councillor's register of Interest Forms.


About Us

Laughton-en-le-Morthen Parish Council serves the village of Laughton-en-le-Morthen along with the hamlets of Brookhouse, Slade Hooton, Carr and Newhall. Laughton-en-le-Morthen is a small dormitory village and civil parish in the Metropolitan Borough of Rotherham, lying to the south of Rotherham, South Yorkshire. Laughton-en-le-Morthen is 130m above sea level and from its western edge behind the church, you can enjoy unrivalled views towards Sheffield and beyond to the Pennines. The main attraction and focal point of the village is All Saints' church with its spire which soars to 185 feet. On a clear day from the top of the church tower you can see: the Humber Bridge; the power stations on the River Trent; the wind farm at Holmfirth and Lincoln Cathedral. Guided visits up the tower can be booked by calling Laughton Bell Ringers Tel: 01909 561886 / 07725 640475.


The Parish Council consists of seven voluntary councillors and a part-time clerk:

Chairperson: Councillor Trevor Stanway
Tel: 01909 563418 Email:


Vice-Chair: Councillor Gregory Price
Tel: 01909 282432  Email:


Councillor Judith Leaning

Councillor Simon Johnson

Councillor Robin Thrower

Clerk to the Council: Caroline Havenhand

Tel: 01709 528823 Email:


Laughton-en-le-Morthen Parish Council was formed in 1994 after a decision was taken by the Boundaries Commission as a result of a public consultation process started in 1986, when parishioners requested the formation of their own parish. Meetings are held on the 2nd Wednesday of every month (except August) and take place from 7pm in the Village Hall located on Firbeck Avenue, Laughton-en-le-Morthen. Documents relating to previous meetings can be found in the ‘Meetings & Minutes’ section of the website.


The Parish Council is the first tier of government, though Laughton-en-le-Morthen Parish Council is not aligned to anypolitical party. All our meetings are open to parishioners who are welcome to attend; an agenda for the forthcoming meeting can be requested by contacting the Clerk to the Council.


Our elected members work on a voluntary basis and do not claim any expenses relating to their role as councillors. In brief, the Parish Council discusses, governs and sets policies relating to the following areas, many of which are detailed further throughout the website:


• Laughton-en-le-Morthen Recreation Ground consisting of: football pitch; playground; car park and Village Hall.
• St John’s Road allotments: 97 plots currently at full capacity.
• Laughton-en-le-Morthen Village Hall: run by the Village Hall Management Committee.
• Local Planning Applications and planning issues.
• Parish Planting Scheme: currently incorporating the beds & borders throughout Laughton-en-le-Morthen, Brookhouse and Slade Hooton.